‘where the story began’ – my DIY aquarium project ‘Aqua-arch’ part 1

unsharp photo of my first 2 fishes

unsharp photo of my first 2 fishes

13th of november 2010: here the story began when two of my friends gave me two goldfish as a birthday present. My first thought was ‘hell no..’ wth am I going to do with these two fishes. Considering the fact that I had no aquarium I first used a big long vase. It was quite nice, large enough and no costs. So after I named the fish after my friends they got there new home.

Until my dad called me with bad news, there where no problems at all. The bad new was that the vase collapsed… He was sitting downstairs when suddenly he heard a big “BANG”. He ran upstairs to my room and instead of worrying about everything being wet, he immediately searched for the fish and got them to safety. After that he called me and I went looking for a new aquarium. In a shop called ‘Petsplace’ I found one. Just a standard nothing special glass aquarium. I also bought some gravel and some water plants.

From the beginning on I was fascinated about underwater life. Just looking at the fish was relaxing and peaceful. After a few months I decided to buy a bigger aquarium. Since the fish were growing and the fact that I wanted them to have enough space made me buying a new aquarium. I gave the other aquarium to my sister so she could also have some fish. So now I had a nice aquarium waiting to be scaped. Down here 2 photos of the aquarium in the beginning and a few weeks later.

in the beginning

in the beginning

after a few weeks

after a few weeks

After the aquarium was like the the photo above it stayed like that quite a long time. But when time passed by I wanted to rescape my aquarium. Now (1 year later) again on my birthday I got new fish. This time not from my friends but from my dad. So now it was a good moment to rescape my aquarium, I bought some new plants, darker gravel and one new fish myself.

rescaping I

rescaping I

rescaped

rescaped I

rescaped

rescaped I

above another photo of the aquarium again rescaped. I think this was after like half a year or something.  After that year I did a big rescape. I bought an algae eater, new wood and began the set up. I also changed the place of my aquarium. First it was on my desk and now I moved it on to a small table against the wall.

new place

new place

big rescape

big rescape II

rescape

rescaped III

With the last scaping (III, photo above) a little accident happened. One of my fish (on the picture below the fish that’s swimming near the surface) jumped out of the fishnet and smacked right on the floor… it didn’t move anymore… even though the fish didn’t move I grabbed it with my hands and put it back with the other fishes. Amazingly the fish started to move again. The first movements were not that good… it just pushed with only the backtail so maybe I would have a handicapped fish. But after a while the fish began to recover and until now it’s still living the fishlife.

.

.

From the last rescaping it lasted until now. The new thing is that……… I got a totally new aquarium. Why? Well, while visiting my sister in Rotterdam she asked me if I wanted some of her little guppy’s. So I thought ‘why not!?’. The funny thing is that after I gave her my small aquarium a few years ago she also started to like the aquarium thing and she had now two aquariums. One with goldfish and one with guppy’s.

When we left her place she gave me some guppy’s in a small glass jar. The only thing was that, outside it was freezing… and we missed our train…so I wrapped the jar in my gloves and beanie. luckily they survived the trip and I got them a nice vase. The fact that guppy’s need a temperature between 18 – 28 °C concerned me. In the night the temperature was dropping below 18 °C and the next day I found one dead…and the day after that one more…So since I had the responsibility for keeping the fish in good conditions I decided to buy a good aquarium for them with a heater. After like 2 hours searching we found a good one. Below a photo of the new aquarium. It’s really clear and green.

guppy aquarium

guppy aquarium

So this was the story until I came with the idea to make one by myself. Since I was going to apply for industrial design at the technical university of Delft, this was a good moment to combine this as just a fun project and a project for my portfolio.

In the next part I am going to write about the idea and the progress. From sketching to working with wood. I hope you enjoyed the story and here a little preview on what’s coming.

– Vincent

preview

preview

Geef een reactie

